Link Plenty

8 thoughts on “Link Plenty

  1. Jesus. For an “and finally” link, this Night Shade nonsense really sets my teeth to grinding. As if the fuss a few months ago wasn’t bad enough. I’m done with these asshats, once and for all.

  2. It’s quite staggering, isn’t it? I like the “Things that took less time than the production of this book” list.

  3. “Margo Lanagan’s White Time gets a UK edition”

    I don’t mean to pick nits, but White Time has already had a UK edition, back in 2001. It’s probably thanks to Tender Morsels that it has been re-printed and re-promoted.

    As for Night Shade… oh dear. It’s shocking how patient those defrauded have been; if I’d pre-ordered that book, I would’ve sued Night Shade years ago.

  4. Nick is right: I read White Time out of my local library a couple of years ago. The new publisher is David Fickling Books, who published Tender Morsels and also Lanagan’s newer collection Red Spikes.

  5. Mind you, when you’re dealing with people willing to shell out $500 for a copy of Perdido Street Station, I imagine the urge to try to flog them Tower Bridge signed by China Mieville must have been overwhelming.

  6. Ah, I see that the Night Shade Mieville was officially canceled a couple of weeks ago. The last few comments on the above thread seem to have missed the announcement as well.

  7. Officially canceled, yes, but I think you’re misreading the subsequent comments in that thread. Those folks seem to be saying “So the announcement says they’ll be getting in touch about the $500 I spent on a non-book…. I haven’t heard anything yet.” That strikes me as still being strong grounds for disgruntlement. On the other hand, I don’t know if the lack of activity in the last several days means NSB has patched things up for them, or if they just haven’t re-complained in the thread.

Leave a comment