Short Story Club

Reading club, that is. As mooted when we finished the Hugo short fiction discussions, I think I’m going to continue reading and inviting discussion about a story a week, at least for a while. The format remains the same: I’ll post a reminder on Friday, and a discussion post on Sunday that rounds up as much comment as I can find — which will probably be less than for the Hugo nominees, since I plan to focus on stories published for the first time in English this year.

Here’s my current list of things that have either caught my eye, or are by authors I already know I’m interested in, or have cropped up as recommendations somewhere (notably Rich Horton’s short fiction reviews in Locus), with discussion dates:

I think there’s a pretty good variety of styles and content in there, but of course the proof will be in the reading.

31 Responses to “Short Story Club”

  1. Karen Burnham Says:

    Excellent! I really enjoyed the ones in the spring, even when I couldn’t chime in. I hope I’ll be a more active participant in the fall. Thanks for continuing this!

  2. Niall Says:

    Good!

    I’ve just realised my alphabetical order is not as alphabetical as it could be. Ah well.

  3. Alexander Says:

    Glad to hear of this. I followed the Hugo reading and discussion without posting, and look forward to this venue continuing. Plus I haven’t read stuff from most of the listed authors, so this might be a good motivator to widen my interests. Count me in.

  4. Niall Says:

    Excellent. Good to have you on board!

  5. Maureen Kincaid Speller Says:

    I’m planning to read along this time.

  6. ‘The Best Monkey’ (2009) by Daniel Abraham « Follow the Thread Says:

    [...] Abraham, science fiction, short fiction, The Best Monkey | Niall Harrison of Torque Control has announced that, starting this weekend, he’ll be hosting weekly discussions of short fiction. In an attempt [...]

  7. ‘A Tiny Feast’ (2009) by Chris Adrian « Follow the Thread Says:

    [...] short fiction | This post is about the second story to be discussed in Torque Control’s weekly discussion schedule. It’s not actually due for discussion until the 30th of this month; but, as noted in a previous [...]

  8. Sarah L. Edwards Says:

    I’m glad to see this continued. I didn’t end up commenting on the Hugo posts, but I will at the very least be reading the stories and discussion, and hopefully chiming in now and then, too.

  9. Niall Says:

    The more the merrier. :-)

  10. Jed Says:

    Nifty project; thanks for putting it together!

    I don’t know whether you can (or want to) edit posts over time, but if you can, would it be possible to add links from this entry to the discussions themselves as they happen? That way, this page could become a sort of table of contents for all the discussions.

  11. Niall Says:

    Jed, I had been thinking of putting together a “table of contents” post when we were all done; but now that you say it, of course, there’s no reason why I couldn’t use this one and update as we go. So I will.

  12. The Windup Links « Torque Control Says:

    [...] Comments Short Story Club … on Short Story Club: “The B…Niall on Short Story ClubJed on Short Story Club: [...]

  13. REVIEW – Black Static issue 10, May 2009 « Ruthless Culture Says:

    [...] fiction floating about the place is of a shockingly low standard.  Torque Control has been staging a series of intriguing discussion of works of short fiction but I don’t think that they have come [...]

  14. ‘Oh He Is’ by Karen Heuler « Everything Is Nice Says:

    [...] a comment » I’ve been enjoying taking part in Niall Harrison’s short story club over at Torque Control. This week’s story is ‘Oh He Is’ by Karen Heuler which I [...]

  15. Short Story Club Reminder: “A Tulip for Lucretius” « Torque Control Says:

    [...] Comments Short Story Club … on Short Story Club: “The…James on A Little Less Conversatio…Nick H. on [...]

  16. Short Story Club Reminder: “The Shangri-La Affair” « Torque Control Says:

    [...] Story Club Reminder: “The Shangri-La Affair” November 6, 2009 — Niall This week’s story is “The Shangri-La Affair“, by Lavie Tidhar. I’m going to try to start the [...]

  17. Short Story Club Reminder: “The Radiant Car Thy Sparrows Drew” « Torque Control Says:

    [...] Hilliard on “Sinner, Baker, Fabulist…Niall on “Sinner, Baker, Fabulist…Short Story Club … on Short Story Club: “Eros,…Short Story Club … on Short [...]

  18. Genreville » Blog Archive » Looking Ahead: Sky Whales and Other Wonders, Unplugged, Moonshine, The New Dead, Pleasure Model Says:

    [...] published online (though you wouldn’t know it by the ones Niall Harrison keeps inflicting on the Torque Control Short Story Club). ObGBC: five women (36%), nine [...]

  19. The Other Links « Torque Control Says:

    [...] by Ne…David Moles on “Memory Dust” by G…Genreville » B… on Short Story ClubPeter Hollo on “Memory Dust” by [...]

  20. 2010 « Torque Control Says:

    [...] more round-table discussions of new books, of course (any suggestions?), and another run of short story club, independent of discussion of award-shortlisted [...]

  21. BSFA Award Nominations So Far — Best Short Story « Torque Control Says:

    [...] the short story club selections seem to be doing pretty well; be interesting to see if any of them make the final ballot. Surprised [...]

  22. Another Short Story Club « Torque Control Says:

    [...] Niall Not here, or at least not here yet; but anyone who participated in the discussions here last autumn may be interested to know that io9 is kicking off a weekend short story club, including both new [...]

  23. BSFA Book Club: Winter Song by Colin Harvey « Torque Control Says:

    [...] is best when it is a conversation, as was proved by the success of last year’s Torque Control short story club. However, one of the things most reviewers like to see (but rarely get) is engagement with their [...]

  24. Return of the Short Story Club « Torque Control Says:

    [...] 9, 2010 — Niall Yes, by popular demand — or at least occasional request — the short story club will return this autumn. I’m thinking of a slightly shorter run (10 weeks?), and perhaps [...]

  25. “The Things” by Peter Watts « Yet There Are Statues Says:

    [...] Story Club for the next few months at Torque Control. I participated in most of the discussions in the first one, so I was happy to see it return. Unfortunately I am usually the bad cop when it comes to short [...]

  26. Three Paragraphs « Through the dark labyrinth Says:

    [...] been following the Short Story Club over at Torque Control, if not always taking part, and I’ve realised that one of the things [...]

  27. Shawn Says:

    Hi, I am part of a short story writer’s group that regularly posts fiction stuff on litizen.wordpress.com. Your group is welcome to read short fiction by budding writers and we could also benefit from your suggestions.

    Thanks

  28. Your thoughts, please: short story discussion | Follow the Thread Says:

    [...] anticipate starting with six to see how it goes. (EDIT: The model I’m looking at is what Torque Control did a few years ago, but with multiple [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

