The Linkarets

  1. Ballard

  2. I have finally watched the finale of Battlestar Galactica, and my basic reaction is: oh dear. It’s most frustrating because I don’t think it would have been hard to make it good; see, for instance, Abigail Nussbaum on the need for the ending to have the courage of its convictions. Other links:
  3. Awards news
    • This year’s Tiptree Award winners are Nisi Shawl, for Filter House, and Patrick Ness, for The Knife of Never Letting Go; I’ve not read the former yet, but I’m pleased by the latter, which I think is not only a good winner of the award, but also pleasingly Tiptree-ish in the ferocity of its execution
    • The ballot for the Shirley Jackson Awards
    • Samantha Hunt’s The Invention of Everything Else, which I rather liked (but not everybody is so keen) is on the shortlist for this year’s Orange Prize
  4. Reviews
  5. Miscellany

6 Responses to “The Linkarets”

  1. Rich Horton Says:

    One might note that the story the Guardian printed as Ballard’s “last” is indeed apparently his last short story, but that it was first published in Interzone way back in 1996. I think it’s a bit cheeky of the Guardian to by omission imply that they received it from JGB’s hands, ink still wet, as he breathed his last.

  2. Martin Says:

    I’m glad Wheeler posted that because, as he says, “I think it’s important to be clear-eyed about what people are actually buying, reading, and enjoying, and lists like this help that.” the list itself isn’t very shocking but it is a bit depressing.

    One thing: it is no surprise that Star Wars sells loads but I was surprised that Tobias Buckell’s Halo novel sold 170,000 copies given the canon is so much less well developed. I wonder how much Predator: South China Seas sold.

  3. Ted Says:

    Regarding the Halo novel, the sales might be less surprising when you consider that the latest Halo game has sold 5.9 million copies. Also note that most buyers paid $60 for the game; a tie-in novel is a relatively cheap way for a fan to get more Halo content.

  4. Martin Says:

    I’m sure raw volume of original product is a major contributing factor but I was still surprised at how big the effect was, particulalry in the abscence of a fandom of the sort that Star Wars has. Gears of War 2 sold over 4 million copies in its first two months of release, I wonder what the figures for Karen Traviss’s are?

    Plus a film and a game remain two different media. I can see why a Star Wars fan would want more narrative content, I’m less sure why a Halo fan would want it considering the game isn’t primarily narrative based and has an essentially infinite amount of content in the form of multi-player. Certainly I would prefer to just play Halo and read Crystal Rain.

  5. David Moles Says:

    Hey, I totally play Halo for the story.


Leave a Reply

