World Fantasy Award Winners

Aaannnd … we’re back. And how better to celebrate than with a set of award winners?

Novel: Ysabel, Guy Gavriel Kay (Viking Canada/Penguin Roc)
Novella: Illyria, Elizabeth Hand (PS Publishing)
Short Story: “Singing of Mount Abora”, Theodora Goss (Logorrhea, Bantam Spectra)
Anthology: Inferno: New Tales of Terror and the Supernatural, Ellen Datlow, Editor (Tor)
Collection: Tiny Deaths, Robert Shearman (Comma Press)
Artist: Edward Miller
Special Award, Professional: Peter Crowther for PS Publishing
Special Award, Non-Professional: Midori Snyder and Terri Windling for Endicott Studios Website

Congratulations to all, and now I really have to get around to reading my copies of Ysabel and Illyria.

In other news, the holiday was lovely. We were in this house and had many books to read, although most of my time was taken up by one huge book, namely A Suitable Boy. (I probably won’t get around to writing anything substantive about it, but you could do worse than check out Victoria’s review at Eve’s Alexandria.) There was also time for a side-trip to Hay-on-Wye, where I think we were remarkably restrained, and where Liz spotted a particularly good example of mis-shelving.

Coming later this week: other stuff.

One Response to “World Fantasy Award Winners”

  1. Liviu Says:

    I read most of Logorrhea since it is such a wonderful anthology and the story by Miss Goss stood out for me – maybe not the most accomplished, but the kind of story and writing that makes me follow an author as long as she writes things that interest me even remotely

    I read some from A Suitable Boy – I own it – but it’s one of those big novels that I want to read sometime, but…

    Shantaram is another famous one such big novel, this time from a western perspective, that may appeal to people who liked A Suitable Boy

    I love that picture of books, read a bunch of those I can identify (Weber, Swiftly, Scalzi, Gone Away World) and I have Starry Rift and Sputnik Caledonia to read – read 2 o3 stories from Starry Rift for now – I tend to buy all Strahan original anthologies on sight as well as the one he strongly recommends like Logorrhea – and I read 4 of the 6 Crumey novels so far and loved them all including the controversial in sf circles Mobius Dick –


Leave a Reply

