Locus Award Winners

See here; finalists here.

SF Novel
The Yiddish Policemen’s Union, Michael Chabon (HarperCollins)

I think this puts paid to the repeated suggestions that Chabon doesn’t have enough popular support to be a viable candidate for the Hugo. I think he’s going to win.

Fantasy novel
Making Money, Terry Pratchett (Doubleday UK; HarperCollins)

Young adults book
Un Lun Dun, China Miéville (Ballantine Del Rey; Macmillan UK)

First novel
Heart-Shaped Box, Joe Hill (Morrow; Gollancz)

Novella
“After the Siege”, Cory Doctorow (The Infinite Matrix Jan 2007)

Novelette
“The Witch’s Headstone”, Neil Gaiman (Wizards)

I admit to a feeling of relief that this one didn’t go to “Trunk and Disorderly”. That’s a bad story. But to be honest, “The Witch’s Headstone” felt too much like the novel-excerpt it is to really deserve this.

Short story
“A Small Room in Koboldtown”, Michael Swanwick (Asimov’s Apr/May 2007)

Collection
The Winds of Marble Arch and Other Stories, Connie Willis (Subterranean)

I’m a little surprised Doctorow didn’t win this category as well; I think I also would have preferred it to go to a new collection, rather than a retrospective. Still, Connie Willis Always Wins, I guess.

Anthology
The New Space Opera, Gardner Dozois & Jonathan Strahan, eds. (Eos)

Non-fiction
Breakfast in the Ruins, Barry N. Malzberg (Baen)

I’d have gone with (and indeed voted for) the collection of Russ’s reviews; but this is good too.

Art book
The Arrival, Shaun Tan (Lothian 2006; Scholastic)

Editor
Ellen Datlow

Magazine
F&SF

Publisher
Tor

Artist
Charles Vess

Overall: for me a solid list of winners, but — particularly in the short fiction categories — not a particularly exciting one.

Posted in Awards, SF. Tags: , , . 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “Locus Award Winners”

  1. Abigail Says:

    I’m underwhelmed by both the best fantasy and best YA novel – though admittedly in both cases I’ve read only one other book on the shortlist, and been equally underwhelmed by it. What truly gets me, though, is that the unstoppable force that is Neil Gaiman managed to edge out “The Merchant and the Alchemist’s Gate.”

  2. cofax Says:

    I loved Un Lun Dun, still haven’t read Yiddish Policeman.

    But I chanced upon the podcast of the Swanwick short story, and… really? That’s the best short story of the year? I mean, it was… fine. A fun mashup of classic fantasy tropes and a noir-ish locked-door mystery. But it’s hardly groundbreaking.

    ::shrugs::

  3. Liz Says:

    See Mike Glyer’s post about how well Nebula and Locus success predicts a Hugo (answer: not very). Of course I’m just saying this because last time we had this debate I put my money on Stross and I think I might lose.

    I’m pretty uninspired by the Locus winners, and suprised that the Chiang did not win. Very happy that The Arrival won and City of Bones didn’t win, though.

  4. Locus Pocus « Torque Control Says:

    […] Neil Clarke posts about the change to the Locus poll scoring system, as described alongside the results in the July 2008 issue: However, the next thing I see really bothers me and completely invalidates […]


Leave a Reply

