Philip K Dick Award Shortlist

I’m on my way out the door, but I just spotted this news:

GREY by Jon Armstrong (Night Shade Books)
UNDERTOW by Elizabeth Bear (Bantam Spectra)
FROM THE NOTEBOOKS OF DR. BRAIN by Minister Faust (Del Rey)
NOVA SWING by M. John Harrison (Bantam Spectra)
GRADISIL by Adam Roberts (Pyr)
ALLY by Karen Traviss (Eos)
SATURN RETURNS by Sean Williams (Ace Books)

The PKD is, of course, given to science fiction novels published in paperback original form in the US. This looks like a fine shortlist to me and hey, I can actually have an opinion — Nova Swing to win!

In other news, looks like we have a Baroque Cycle reading group. Tentative schedule, based entirely on my own constraints: read the three books of Quicksilver in March/April/May, then do The Confusion in May/June, and The Systen of the World in July, possibly stretching into August.

Posted in Awards. 8 Comments »

8 Responses to “Philip K Dick Award Shortlist”

  1. Tony Keen Says:

    I’ve read ,i>Quicksilver, and am coming to the end of The Confusion, and I ain’t reading them again, but I may join in in August.

  2. Liz Says:

    I am in for TBC, although I reserve the right to skip any boring 30-page tangents on how many sheep were on Noah’s Ark this time through.

  3. Niall Says:

    how many sheep were on Noah’s Ark this time through.

    I feel I’m going to regret this, but … the answer’s not “two”?

  4. Liz Says:

    Actually that may be one of the shorter digressions in Quicksilver, but you also had to calculate how many sheep would be required to feed the carnivorous animals onboard the ark for forty days and forty nights, and you end up with an ark which is about one-third sheep. This is the only image which has stuck in my mind from when I saw Stephenson talk back in 2001.

  5. LIlian Says:

    Ag. I too have been hoping to be whipped into reading these. But would rather start after March..

  6. Friday Photo Blogging: once more beneath the pier | Velcro City Tourist Board Says:

    […] which I guess I’ll need to finish off before the Great Baroque Cycle Reading Group (or should it be Reading Cabal?) kicks off around […]

  7. Yet More Awards « Torque Control Says:

    […] Torque Control The Vector Editorial Blog « Philip K Dick Award Shortlist […]

  8. Baroque Cycle: Quicksilver « Torque Control Says:

    […] Cycle: Quicksilver And we’re off! Somewhat later than planned, I admit, for which I apologise, but now the avalanche has started and it is too late for the […]


Leave a Reply

