Call For Papers: SFRA conference 2008

The following just dropped into my inbox:

SFRA CONFERENCE 2008
on the theme of Good Writing

We invite papers on all aspects of the aesthetics of sf in any medium.

We particularly welcome papers on our guests who will include:
KAREN JOY FOWLER, DAVID MITCHELL AND ZORAN ZIVCOVIC.

The banquet will be hosted by Ian McDonald

The Science Fiction Research Association Conference 2008 will be held at Trinity College, Dublin from Tuesday 24th to Friday 27th June, 2008.

Full prices, excluding banquet and accommodation: EUR160/USD185/UKP110; students EUR100/USD120/UKP70.

Paypal account: SFRA2008.
Enquiries: sfra2008@googlemail.com
Details: www.ucd.ie/historyarchives/conferences/sfra2008.htm

Proposals should consist of title, 250-word abstract (maximum) and equipment needs. Deadline for proposals: 29th February 2008.
Proposals should be sent to: sfra2008@googlemail.com

Organisers:
Edward James, Paul Kincaid, Farah Mendlesohn, Maureen Kincaid Speller

I was more or less planning to go anyway, but that list of guests seals the deal. (And with any luck I’ll go to the second SFF Masterclass, which will be immediately beforehand, as well.)

Posted in Events, SF. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “Call For Papers: SFRA conference 2008”

  1. Paul Raven Says:

    I don’t appear to be on that mailing list – any chance of you forwarding me a copy of the email, old chap?

    And if Masterclass MkII is as good as the first one, you should go for sure. I had a blast.

  2. Karen Burnham Says:

    Does anyone know when the application process for the Masterclass 2008 will begin? Planning a trip to Ireland/England from the states is a time consuming process, and I’d love to know a ways in advance if I need to spend more than a week in Dublin, or less.

    I really hope I can go to it, it sounds like it’d just be a week in a very geeky heaven for me.

  3. Niall Says:

    Karen: I’m assuming it’ll be similar to last year — CV and writing sample by the end of February, or thereabouts. If I find out anything more official I’ll let you know.

  4. Foundation News « Torque Control Says:

    […] College Dublin. Dates: June 20th, 21st, and 22nd (that’s Friday, Saturday, Sunday). The SFRA starts […]


Leave a Reply

