Some Things I Know, Some Things I Don’t

In the former camp, “that the latest episode of John From Cincinnati was great”; in the latter, “that I didn’t fully understand what happened in the last ten minutes.”

(Seriously, is anyone other than me watching this show?)

Posted in TV. 15 Comments »

15 Responses to “Some Things I Know, Some Things I Don’t”

  1. Abigail Says:

    I’ve been holding off on it, mainly because yours have been the only genuinely positive responses I’ve seen. Plus, my project for the summer doldrums is to re-watch Deep Space Nine.

    I might get to it later this year.

  2. Niall Says:

    Plus, my project for the summer doldrums is to re-watch Deep Space Nine.

    You’re kidding! Snap!

    I got the season one box set for my birthday. I don’t actually own any of the other box sets, and it will probably take me most of the summer just to watch season one, but you gotta start somewhere. I was pleasantly surprised by “Emissary”, I have to say.

  3. Niall Says:

    Also, obviously, I am deeply hurt that you don’t trust my recommendations. But at least someone else likes it.

  4. Kalorlo Says:

    Not watching it: I have enough tv to watch at the moment. (Plus I prefer not to download live action shows unless they’re *really* good. Storage is annoying).

  5. Abigail Says:

    I watched “Emissary” last night and you’re right, it holds up surprisingly well. I’ve gotten used to disparaging Star Trek (and most early nineties TV with it) for not doing the sort of things that we think of as necessities nowadays – plot and character arcs, heavy continuity, moral ambiguity. As it turns out, the show was a hell of a lot more nuanced than I remembered.

    You can tell, though, that it’s been a while since I watched pure, unadulterated Trek. I was very nearly overwhelmed by the raw tonnage of technobabble in the episode’s later scenes (‘We can’t move the station to the mouth of the wormhole! It’ll fall apart!’ ‘Well, what if we do gobbledygook?’ ‘Hey, that might work!’ Repeat for ten minutes.)

  6. Niall Says:

    (’We can’t move the station to the mouth of the wormhole! It’ll fall apart!’ ‘Well, what if we do gobbledygook?’ ‘Hey, that might work!’ Repeat for ten minutes.)

    Hee. Although I’ve also been struck by how much of the technobabble is internally consistent — it’s still magic, but it’s consistently applied magic. (ie it’s not inconceivable that a subspace field would work that way, it’s just a stretch to believe they could whistle up a subspace field in that way.) Until they invent some new magic to solve a given episode’s problems, anyway.

    Also, the next couple of episodes aren’t nearly as good as “Emissary” (except when Garak is on-screen, of course), but I expected that, and in fact don’t have particularly high expectations for season one in general.

    One thing that struck me is that they keep using the teaser to set up the C-plot — the episode’s main action doesn’t generally start until after the opening credits. Which makes the pacing seem odd by the standards of most of the things I watch at the moment.

  7. Graham Says:

    I’m going to have to start watching this, aren’t I?

  8. Mike Says:

    I’m still watching JFC, and FWIW I’m with you on ep 6.

  9. Jonathan M Says:

    I seem to remember that DS9 only got really interesting once the shaved head and goatee arrived.

  10. Abigail Says:

    I’m only a few episodes into season 1, but I suspect you’re onto something there.

    Seriously, though, from my vague recollections of the show and what’s showing up on screen, I’m getting the sense that there were two DS9s, and the split is indeed around the point that the shaved head and goatee arrive, but it also coincides with the shift to the Founders as primary villains.

  11. Niall Says:

    I think that’s pretty much the received wisdom. The Dominion are introduced at the end of season two; we get the Defiant (and Ronald D. Moore as supervising producer) at the start of season three; the goatee appears at the end of season three; Worf joins at the start of season four. And the two episodes that stand out most in my memory — “Far Beyond the Stars” and “In the Pale Moonlight” aren’t until season six. It was tempting to just skip straight to the good stuff, but doing so would have gone against my completist nature — my viewing of the original run was sufficiently patchy that I don’t actually know with any certainty what I’ve seen and what I haven’t.

  12. Jason M. Robertson Says:

    I am willing to dissent somewhat here. I think early DS9 is much better than often argued, particularly season two. The political stuff that often gets attacked as boring is actually quite good.

  13. Abigail Says:

    I’m quite fond of the political stuff so far – it’s much better than the cod-Western that never manages to shake loose of Trek’s overpowering squareness.

  14. Dax « Torque Control Says:

    […] As I mentioned in the comments of a recent post, I’m in the process of rewatching the first season of Star […]

  15. The Hundred Thousand Linkdoms « Torque Control Says:

    […] McCalmont on Moon, and at VideoVista on John From Cincinati, of which you may remember I was rather […]


Leave a Reply

